Main Logo

News & Notes

The Saint Peter Public Schools Logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

SPHS wins two of three trials during state competition in St. Paul

  SPHS Mock Trial team members, with some of their
  state hardware, include: (l to r), Anna LoFaro, John
  Borgmeier, Rahima Jamac, Rahma Jamac, Charlie 
  Redmond, Erin Hill, Miranda Seham, Sophie
  Matarrese, and Paige Meyer.

Congrats to the Saint Peter High School Mock Trial team which placed fifth out of 16 schools at the Minnesota State Mock Trial Tournament held at the Ramsey County Courthouse in St. Paul this past Thursday and Friday.

Team members include (listed alphabetically), John Borgmeier, Erin Hill, Rahima Jamac, Rahma Jamac, Anna LoFaro, Sophie Matarrese, Paige Meyer, Charlie Redmond, and Miranda Seham. Coaches are Dan Clark and Kyle Hilding along with the team's special legal counsel, Judge Allison Krehbiel, Jim Dunn and Joe Bergstrom.

In addition to the fifth-place team finish, Rahma Jamac and Rahima Jamac were named All-State Attorneys while Erin Hill was named All-State Witness.

The Saints won two of three trials at state, defeating Northfield in the first round and Lakeville South in the third round. The only setback for the locals was a close loss to eventual state champion, Nova Classical Academy in the second round. 

The fifth-place finish ties for the second-best finish in SPHS history at state. The 2012 Saints team tied for third and the 2015 SPHS squad also placed fifth at state.

For more information on the state tournament scoring results go to

The Saint Peter Public Schools Logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Congrats to the SPHS Varsity Mock Trial team for earning a trip to the Minnesota State Mock Trial Tournament by defeating Rochester Century in the Region 5 championship on Friday.

Team members pictured here, include:. front row, Miranda Seham, Paige Meyer, Rahima Jamac; back row, Rahma Jamac, Anna LoFaro, John Borgmeier, Charlie Redmond, Erin Hill, and Sophie Matarrese. The Saints' Mock Trial team's head coach is Dan Clark with Kyle Hilding serving as a teacher coach, and special team legal counselors includes Judge Allison Krehbiel, Jim Dunn and Joe Bergstrom.

The Saints advance to the state tournament in St. Paul on March 5-6 and will compete against Cloquet, Albany, Watertown-Mayer, Luverne, Northfield, Nova Classical Academy, Visitation, Eastview, East Ridge, Apple Valley, Breck, Eden Prairie, Lakeville North and Lakeville South.

For more information on the Minnesota State Mock Trial Tournament go to

The Saint Peter Public Schools Logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

There will be a Saint Peter High School/Middle School parent-athlete-coach meeting on Monday, March 9, in the SPHS gym at 5:30 p.m. for all spring sports for grades 7-12. Attendance is not required, but highly encouraged.

There will be a brief large group meeting regarding eligibility and general athletics information and then it will break off to sport-specific meetings to meet coaches and talk through sport-specific scheduling and expectations. All meetings will conclude prior to the 7th and 8th grade band concert that evening.

Parents are encouraged to register their students in their activities prior to attending the meeting at

Sports Include:

Adaptive Bowling - Head Coach Kris Voeltz

Boys Track and Field - Head Coach Keith Hanson
Girls Track and Field - Head Coach Jeff Portugue
MS Boys Track and Field - Head Coach Kris Glidden
MS Girls Track and Field - Head Coach Bill Stuewe

Baseball - Head Coach Kurt Moelter
8th Baseball - Head Coach Andy Viker
7th Baseball - Head Coach Ryan Timmerman

Softball - Head Coach Heidi Niemeyer
MS Softball - Head Coach Abby Whritenour

Boys Tennis - Head Coach Aaron Rothenberger

Boys Golf - Head Coach Neil Doose
Girls Golf - Head Coach Pat Klubben

If you have any questions, please contact the Activities Office at 507-934-4212 Ext. 6025

The Saint Peter Public Schools Logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Saint Peter High School’s speech team continued a busy stretch of the 2020 season with varsity meets at Mankato West (Feb. 15) and Mankato Loyola (Feb. 8) recently.

The Saints won the team title at West’s Scarlet Invitational out of 12 teams and during the previous weekend placed second out of 17 teams. 

Breeley Ruble (Drama), Josh Ellerbeck (Humorous), and Sky Gassman (Poetry) took home first-place honors in their respective categories at the West meet while Ellerbeck (Humorous), David Marlow (Creative Expression), and Liliana Hughes (Storytelling) earned individual titles at Loyola. 

Runner-up finishers at West included Marlow (Creative Expression), Megan Beran (Extemporaneous Reading), and Obet Alcantara Alvarez (Humorous), while Beran (Extemporaneous Reading) and Rahma Jamac (Original Oratory) placed second at Loyola.


Team results (top 5 of 12) - 1. St. Peter 162; 2. Fairmont 144; 3. Mankato Loyola 62; 4. Mankato West 58; 5. Mankato East 44.

Saints individuals
Creative Expression - 2. David Marlow; 6. Tara Harbo
Drama - 1. Breeley Ruble
Duo - 5. David Marlow & Uwumborge Baji
Extemporaneous Reading - 2. Megan Beran; 3. Madelyn Tollefson; 4. Paige Meyer
Extemporaneous Speaking - 4. Elliot Schrumpf
Great Speeches - 3. Hannah Wohlers; 4. Lillie Sund; 5. Miranda Seham
Humorous - 1. Josh Ellerbeck; 2. Obet Alcantara Alvarez; 6. Maddie Doose
Original Oratory - 1. Eva Kracht; 4. Vanessa Krueger
Poetry - 1. Sky Gassman; 3. Aubry Landsom; 3. Rahima Jamac
Prose - 2. Anders Taylor; 4. Piper Ruble


Team results (top 5 of 17) - 1. Fairmont 154; 2. St. Peter 120; 3. Mankato Loyola 48; 4. Mankato East 44; 5. Mankato West 38.

Saints individuals
Creative Expression - 1. David Marlow
Extemporaneous Reading - 2. Megan Beran; 3. Paige Meyer; 6. Madelyn Tollefson
Great Speeches - 4. Lillie Sund; 5. Hannah Wohlers; 6. Miranda Seham
Humorous - 1. Josh Ellerbeck; 4. Obet Alcantara Alvarez
Original Oratory - 2. Rahma Jamac; 3. Eva Kracht; 5. Vanessa Krueger
Poetry - 3. Rahima Jamac; 4. Sky Gassman
Prose - 4. Anders Taylor; 5. Shelby Beaudoin
Storytelling - 1. Liliana Hughes

Feb. 29 - at Medford
March 7 - at Shakopee 
March 14 - at Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton
March 17 - Sub-Section meet at Mound-Westonka
March 19 - Big South Conference meet at Marshall
April 4 - Section 2AA meet at Mankato East
April 17 - MN State AA Tournament at Wayzata

The Saint Peter Public Schools Logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Spring registration is now open for Saint Peter High School co-curricular activities. To register, please visit:

Questions about how to set up a registration account? Click here:…/Create%20New%20Lobby%2…

Looking for spring schedules? Go to You can import specific schedules into your own calendar. A helpful guide on how to do that can be found here:

Varsity Start Dates:
March 2nd - Adapted Bowling
March 9th - Track & Field and Softball
March 16th - Boys & Girls Golf and Baseball
March 23rd - Boys Tennis

Middle school baseball, softball, and track & field start dates are tentative based on weather and field conditions. Practices will start around April 1st for those activities.

If you have any questions about registration, please contact the Activities Office at 507-934-4212, ext. 6025