News & Notes

Saint Peter Public Schools logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Saint Peter High School’s National Honor Society (NHS) chapter held its final meeting of the 2021-22 school year on Monday, May 9 as they bid adieu to 32 members who are part of the senior class and will be graduating later this month.

The SPHS NHS chapter will also be welcoming 44 new members during its annual induction ceremony at the SPHS gym on Wednesday, May 18 starting at 5:30 p.m.

“These students get together once a month to work on and develop their leadership skills,” SPHS NHS Advisor Maggie Carlson said. “They also have been out in the community volunteering their time in a variety of ways. As of this spring, the National Honor Society has 111 members.”

The newest members of the SPHS National Honor Society chapter includes: front row (l to r), Rachel Salfer, Piper Ruble, Macy Weller, Grace Dlouhy, Lili Deming, Desi Willaert, Madison Honetschlager, Sydney Marthaler, Riley Rubischko; second row, Jasmine Dezurn, Jolin Huang, Hannah Denzer, Laura Klatt, Claire Meyer, Tate Olson, Cole Filand, Sam Moelter, Will Elias, Mackenzie Moline, Olivia Hollerich, Ella Engstrand, Ximena Olivares; third row, Andrew Baji, Rylee Stadick, Alexandra Mattarese, Kailyn Embacher, Daniel Zhang, Henry Leonard, Tate Yeager, Ryan Domras, Matthew Otterness, Luke Gilbertson, Anthony Nicolai, Keira Dunn, Alexis Boettcher, Liana Snow. (Not pictured: Allan Eberhart, Rhyan Holmgren, Molly Leonard, Abby Maloney, Sophia Matarrese, Mackenzie Steinborn, Grace Tollefson, and Callie Voeltz)

SPHS senior National Honor Society members include: front row (l to r), Adrian Rojas-Malledo, Zach Smith, Teddy Pierret, Connor Snow, Shea Hildebrandt, Bennett Olson; back row, Hannah Wohlers, Eleanor Winterfeldt, Lauren Odland, Lexi Johnson, Maija Tollefson, Anna Klatt, Katie Gurrola, Sophia Doherty, Mackenzie Pettis, Sky Gassman, Eva Kracht, Josie Wiebusch, Ryenne Pettis, Molly Voeltz, Grace Remmert, and Brooke Rehnelt. (Not pictured: Luke Borowy, Sarah Busse, Bryan Harroun, Ellie Johnson, Jaiden Landsom, Elyssa Meixner, Jake Moelter, Makayla Moline, Morgan Petersen, Lilly Ruffin, Salena Smit, Lilian Sund, and Madelyn Tollefson)




Middle school logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Saint Peter Middle School students (grades 5-8) raised $1.786.57 for the St. Peter Public Library program through annual Penny Wars competition.

“The kids really worked hard in raising funds this year, and we are super proud of their efforts this year,” SPMS Student Council co-advisor Rachel Ryan said. 

“We are thrilled with the donation from the Saint Peter Middle School students,” Brenda McHugh, St. Peter Public Library’s supervisor, said. “We plan on using this donation to help in our Summer Reading program, including buying prizes for our program participants.”

The Saint Peter Middle School Student Council, through its Penny Wars fundraiser, donated $1.786.57 to the St. Peter Public Library recently. Shown in the picture above includes: front row (l to r), Bailee Marthaler, Payton Frederickson, Melina Chadwick; second row: Ms. Ryan, Nadir Ahmad, Asher Boyd, Kellen Junso, Molli Weber, Claire Deming, Michel Freeman (librarian at St. Peter Public Library), Brenda McHugh (Saint Peter Public Library’s supervisor), Scarlett Wendt, Julie Weber, Mrs. Knutson, Tanner Mediger; back row, Zeb, Lathe Bly, and Laird Bly.

The Saint Peter Public Schools Logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Saint Peter High School had 16 students participate in the Gustavus Honor Choir Festival on Monday, which included them learning four songs. 

 Those SPHS Choir members taking part in the
 Gustavus Honor Choir event on Monday included:
 front row (l to r) Melanie Hopp, Afrah Daidzic, Meg-
 han Sikkema, Jaydon Thompson, Symon Schott; 
 second row, Eleanor Hughes, Emmalyn Hastings, 
 Sarah Haggenmiller, Olivia Seys, Sam Stuewe; third
 row, Lexi Wentworth, Sophia Ruffing, Nibraas
 Sayidnour, Abby Kukacka, Max Bultman, and
 Aamista Weaver.

The Gustavus Honor Choir Festival brought together outstanding singers and fine choral repertoire in an exciting one-day experience. Students refined their musical skills through engaging choir rehearsals, faculty-led masterclasses, and had a special opportunity to learn from nationally recognized guest artist, Dr. Jeffery Ames.

“The students worked with Dr. Brandon Dean and Dr. Elisabeth Cherland from Gustavus, and two of the pieces were written by Dr. Jeffrey Ames who they brought in to be the guest conductor,” SPHS Choir Director Brianna Bergstrom said. “They finished with an evening concert at Christ Chapel on Gustavus Campus that featured not only the honor choir, but a featured high school choir from St. Michael-Albertville and the Gustavus Choir. It was an awesome day!”

Those SPHS students participating at the Gustavus Honor Choir Festival included: Olivia Seys, Sarah Haggenmiller, Eleanor Hughes, Emmalyn Hastings, Max Bultman, Alexia Wentworth, Afrah Daidzic, Aamista Weaver, Meghan Sikkema, Sophia Ruffing, Melanie Hopp, Abby Kukacka, Nibraas Sayidnour, Sam Stuewe, Jaydon Thompson, and Symon Schott.

The Saint Peter Public Schools Logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Four Saint Peter High School art students earned superior ratings at the 2022 Section 2AA Visual Arts Contest, held at Mankato East High School on Saturday (April 25th).

  SPHS art students earning Superior Awards in the recent
  Section 2AA Visual Arts Contest includes, (l to r) Isabel 
  Avant, Rocio Romero, Psyche Juantos, and Audra Bixby. 

SPHS juniors Isabel Avant (ceramic) and Audra Bixby (ceramic), sophomore Psyche Juantos (mixed media), and freshman Rocia Romero (digital art) earned Superior Awards at the Section 2AA Contest. To view all of the SPHS students’ work that participated in the Section 2AA Contest please click HERE!

“These students did an amazing job and I’m so excited for how well they all did,” SPHS art teacher Eva Hendrickson said. “We’re continuing to build up our art program here at SPHS and this is proof of how well our students are progressing. I’m so proud of all of them!”

The following is the list of the SPHS artists who participated in the Section 2AA Visual Arts Contest:

Student (grade) - Title (category)

Isabel Avant (11) - Compassion (ceramic)
Psyche Juantos (10) - Fey Amor, Feo Amor (mixed media)
Rocio Romero (9) - Vanitas (digital art)
Audra Bixby (11) - Coil Plate (ceramic)

Student (grade) - Title

Leilani Rayna (9) - Elevated Dimensions
Heidi Weber (11) - Christmas Time
Rowan Snay (11) - Woman in Watercolour
Jess Hass (12) - Warrior’s Horse
Ella Ruble (11) - Tux Cat
Madelyn Tollefson (12) - We’re All In This Together
Norah Timmerman (11) - Josie de Vivre
Ava Pettis (11) - Coral Cup

Other Saints competing – Miranda Adams (9), Ella Fritsch (10), and Eleanor Winterfeldt (12).

Middle school logo
Kurt Hildebrandt

Two Saint Peter Middle School Math Masters’ fifth grade teams competed at Bethany Lutheran College (Mankato) today (Friday) and were among the more than 160 fifth graders and 33 teams taking part in the event, according to coach Emilie

The SPMS Team 1 placed fourth overall at Bethany, while Team 2 placed 10th overall. Samantha Salzwedel of Team 1 placed third in the individual round and 13th in the fact drill round.

Show on the photo on the right are SPMS Math Masters fifth grade participants at the recent Bethany Lutheran College event: front row (Team #1 - l to r), Kaelyn Loula, Simon Ribar, Samantha Salzwedel, Zac Hall, and Cameron Johnson; back row (Team #2), Vivi Turritin, Mackynzie Wilmes, Haidyn Kolstad, Bailee Marthaler, and Kate Moelter.