SPHS NHS helps with Shop with a Hero

Members of SPHS’s chapter of the National Honor Society helped area law enforcement/emergency services personnel, including St. Peter Police Department and Fire Department members, during the sixth annual Shop With a Hero event. The event took place on Saturday, Dec. 2, at the Fleet Farm store in Mankato.

The Heroes were able to take 20 area children holiday shopping, thanks to donations from the Minnesota South Central Investigator's Coalition, Helping Minnesota Heroes, the Lions Club, Fleet Farm, as well as charitable gambling from The Red Men Club, The Flame Bar, The Embassy Bar, and the Blue Moon.  Kwik Trip provided coffee and Minnesota River Valley Transit provided transportation for several families. 

“The students from the National Honor Society who volunteer for this event provide a fundamental part of the event’s success.” Saint Peter Public Schools’ School Resource Officer Jon Hughes, who helps organize the local volunteer effort, said. “The students’ willingness to serve is evident and greatly appreciated by first responders and the participants.”

“Our students absolutely love being able to help with this event year after year,” Regina Sirianni, SPHS School Counselor and NHS advisor, said. “This is a great opportunity for our National Honor Society students to help give back to the community while working with our local First Responders.”

Our Heroes were represented locally by the Saint Peter Police Department, North Mankato Police Department, Nicollet County Sheriff's Office, Minnesota State Patrol, Saint Peter Fire Department, North Mankato Fire Department, and River's Edge EMS staffed by Allina.

Above are some photo highlights of SPHS students helping out with the Shop with a Hero event!

Those members of the SPHS National Honor Society Chapter assisting with this year’s Shop With a Hero event included: front row (l to r), Trista Landsom, Liana Snow, Annika Southworth, Ximena Olivares, Ella Engstrand, Rachel Salfer, Isabelle Mish, Lola Pell, Addison Landsom; back row, Sophia Ruffing, Cecily Winterfeldt, Abby Maloney, Mackenzie Moline, Kailyn Embacher, Keira Dunn, Molly Leonard, Olivia Hollerich, Hannah Denzer, Rylee Stadick, and Iris Elias.