SPHS Shining Saints first quarter

A group of 19 Saint Peter High School students were recognized as the Shining Saints award winners for the first quarter of the 2023-24 school year. Those students were honored at a breakfast reception put on by SPHS's PBIS (Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports) committee, which sponsors the program. PBIS team members and SPHS teachers Dani Roehrkasse and Liz Leibfried organized the event and Principal Annette Engeldinger provided the welcome.

The purpose of this program is to recognize the various accomplishments of students within our classrooms and school. Students are nominated by teachers within a department and accompanied by a designated teacher at a breakfast awards program. The suggested list of award criteria includes effort, motivation, academic achievement, initiative, creativity, service to the classroom or community, character, or lives with integrity. 

The following is the list of the first quarter Shining Saints (grade) followed by the teacher/staff member who nominated them:

Yasmin Ahmed (12th) - Regina Siriani
Luke Gilbertson (12th) - Bri Bergstrom
Marcus Graves (12th) - Peggy Dimock
CeeJay King (12th) - Bri Bergstrom, Robbie Deering, Jen Maldonado, Scott Robinson
Mya Moreau (12th) - Heidi Niemeyer
Umayma Abdi (11th) - Dr. Chris Harmes
Emily Sustaita (11th) - Paulette Topel
Ella Cassidy  (10th) - Courtney Shoemaker
Vayda Grafton (10th) - HS Kitchen staff
Shayla Secatero (10th) - HS Kitchen staff
Audrina Belille (10th) - HS Kitchen staff
Vivian Christensen (10th) - Courtney Shoemaker
Finley Olson (9th) - Dan Englehorn
Diamond Hill (9th) - HS Kitchen staff  
Eden VanGrootheest (9th) - Dani Roehrkasse
Kaylee Vogt (9th) - Jasmine Witty
Shahad Said (9th) - Hsin-Ching Liou
Devyn Welp (9th) - Liz Leibfried
Piper Winters (9th) - Maria Figueroa

(PICTURED ABOVE) SPHS Shining Saints award winners for the first quarter of the 2023-24 school year includes: front row (l to r), Diamond Hill, Eden VanGrootheest, Mya Moreau, Shayla Secatero, Vayda Grafton; second row, Vivian Christensen, Devyn Welp, Umayma Abdi; back row, Luke Gilbertson, Piper Winters, Kaylee Vogt, Marcus Graves, CeeJay King, Emily Sustaita. Not pictured are Shahad Said, Yasmin Ahmed, Ella Cassidy, Audrina Belille, and Finley Olson.

(PICTURED BELOW) A large crowd of family members were on hand Thursday (Dec. 7) morning at the SPHS commons area for the first quarter Shining Saints breakfast recognition ceremony.