SPHS one act play cast & crew

Saint Peter High School’s One Act Play ensemble and crew have been busy preparing for Section 2AA, Subsection A Contest since rehearsals started in early December and continued through most of January. This year’s play is “Elephant’s Graveyard,” written by George Brant.

(PICTURED ABOVE) Members of the 2024 SPHS one act play cast & crew includes: front row (l to r), Sophia Brown, Mason Davis, Zebulon Davis, Lyric Ruble, Reid Wills, Anja Harbo; middle row, CeeJay King, Austin Reyes, Brenden Larson, Madison Braam, Alexis Gonzales Boettcher, Nick Mahowald, Ryan Domras; back row, Kanyanat (Fo) Laocharoenchan, Parker Brown, Evan Embacher, Isabelle Mish, Rebekah Roemhildt, Rae Lyle.

The Saints’ ensemble and crew will stage a FREE public performance on Thursday, Jan. 25 at 7 p.m. at the SPHS Performing Arts Center. 

There are new faces in charge of the SPHS show this winter as Matt Robinson and Bri Bergstrom are serving as directors, taking over for Jason Toupence and Amanda Blue. Scott Robinson is in charge of set design and construction.

According to a synopsis from ConcordTheatricals.com – “Elephant's Graveyard is the true tale of the tragic collision of a struggling circus and a tiny town in Tennessee. Set in September of 1916, the play combines historical fact and legend, exploring the deep-seated American craving for spectacle, violence, and revenge.”

The Section 2AA, Subsection A Contest is set for Saturday, Jan. 27 at New Prague High School. In addition to St. Peter, other schools competing will be Jordan, Hutchinson, Marshall, New Prague, New Ulm, and Orono. The Section 2AA, Subsection B teams include Chanhassen, Chaska, Minnetonka, Prior Lake, Shakopee, and Mound-Westonka.

The top three at the Subsection A & B contests advance to the Section 2AA Contest on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2023, in Minnetonka High School. The top play at the Section 2AA Contest advances to state on Thursday, Feb. 8, at the O’Shaughnessy Auditorium on the campus of St. Catherine University (St. Paul).

Alexis Gonzales Boettcher - Alexis
Austin Reyes - Clown
Brenden Larson - Ringmaster
Evan Embacher - Steam Shovel Operator
Isabelle Mish - Preacher
Kanyanat (Fo) Laocharoenchan - Ballet Girl/Ensemble
Lyric Ruble - Ballet Girl/Ensemble
Anja Harbo - Engineer/Ensemble
Madison Braam - Marshal
Zebulon Davis - Deputy/Ensemble/Red
Nick Mahowald - Strong Man
Parker Brown - Young Townsperson
Rebekah Roemhildt - Trainer
Sophia Brown - Muddy Townsperson 
Rae Lyle - Town Hen/Ensemble/Choreography Advisor

CeeJay King - Student Director & lights
Ryan Domras - Assistant Student Director
Mason Davis - scenic construction/ensemble
Reid Wills - scenic construction/ensemble